7th Columnist


The Ghost of Foundry
December 17, 2007, 4:27 pm
Filed under: Forge, Gaming, Halo 3, News

Assembling a masterpiece in Forge can be a time consuming and lonely experience. One requiring absolute concentration. It’s easy to get wrapped up in your forging, and in the vast empty warehouse of Foundry, even easier to go a little ‘space crazy’.

Last thing you need then, as unlucky17 found out, is a visit from the Ghost of Foundry.

Unlike that friendly little Casper fella, the Ghost of Foundry is a far more malevolent beast, tossing grenades at the unsuspecting and just generally creeping folk out. Check out the video below to see the spook in action. Scary stuff indeed.

A glitch? A hoax? Who knows…? Has anyone else out there had the misfortune of meeting this explosive toting scamp?

*UPDATE*

Explained. Here’s the science bit, concentrate!

Apparently the ghost grenade glitch is a fairly common one in Forge. Simply throwing a grenade and immediately shifting into a monitor (before your Spartan has had the chance to finish his throw), prevents the grenade from actually going off. Turn back into a Spartan or simply wait long enough and the grenade will appear, detonate and freak out the unsuspecting.

Try it for yourself. While not quite the Ghost of Lockout style scandal of Halo 2, it’s a fun glitch all the same.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

heh, I saw this last night. I’ve done it before as well.

Comment by D-thunda

I acually saw this the day the new maps came out. Me and my wifey were making a spartan soccer field and she got fragged. Thought it was me, so i showed here the video. Almost exact same spot, just mirrored from the other side.

Comment by Kevin

wow… pretty awesome.

belive it or not.. i spent 2days making my first own slayer oriented map on foundary. My friend joined to test it out and he just claimed “my shield gone down, who sniped me?”
well it was not me.. so the ghost?

ps merry crimbo :)

Comment by Wiplash ll7

i found out hoow the glitch works,best with spike grenade

so i was on forge with my friend and i had just read this article,i thought of doing it on valhalla,so i did what it said,and i could hear the grenade spinning through the air,and it was right in front of a grav-lift,so 3 minutes roll by and the sound was still there,so mi friend was stupid enough to get in the the way of where it was supposed to go with his mongoose,and i never turned into a spartan,and the spike grenade stuck him right on the crotch

Comment by Garkalla

DUDE THIS STUFF I TRIED LAST NIGHT WAS AWESOME!!!! I WOKE UP AND I COULDNT REMEMBER ANYHTHING AND MY BUTT WAS REALLY SORE!!!!!

Comment by I l0ve P3n1s l0ng t1m3

P.S. I NEED OINTMENT FOR BY SORE BUTT, PLZ HELP ME

Comment by I l0ve P3n1s l0ng t1m3

MY CELL # IS 605-359-0918 PLZZZZ CONTACT ME

Comment by I l0ve P3n1s l0ng t1m3

DUDE WHERES MY CAR?

Comment by I l0ve P3n1s l0ng t1m3

NO your update isnt true becasue the nade alays goes off by the oil splat. ontop of that bungie did this on purpose because belive it or not i will post once i get a capture card… well me and 2 friends where walking arond just goofing off and then spiker shots came out of no where we hid in a building for 5 min when my friend peeked out. he was stuck and he died and it said killed by ???

Comment by BOB

me and my freind were playing forg and bilt it and saw the goust its not a goust its a glitch that invals campain

Comment by gunner spartin




Leave a Reply

