7th Columnist


Halo’s Lucky Loonie
May 20, 2008, 1:37 pm
Filed under: Easter Eggs, Gaming, Halo 3, Multiplayer, News

I can’t believe I’ve not seen this before. All that time spent running and gunning around Snowbound, blissfully unaware there’s a shiny Canadian dollar tucked away beneath my feet.

Yep, that’s right, one Canadian dollar. Halo 3’s very own Lucky Loonie just sitting there in the Active Camo cave under the ice.

Clearly a reference to the 2002 Winter Olympics, where Canadian icemaker, Trent Evans, buried a loonie under centre ice to assist in puck-drop placement as a large logo covered the customary target. That year, both the men and women’s teams won gold, and thus the legend of the lucky loonie was born. As a result the loonie in question now rests in the Hockey Hall of Fame following delivery by Wayne Gretzky after the tournament.

Check out the video below to find it for yourself.

A quick look at my Halo 3 stats over at Bungie.net show I’ve generally met with success when facing off on Snowbound. Could this really be down to the lucky dollar, or basic camping with the shotgun? Personally, I like to think it’s the former.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I usually get my ass handed to me on Snowbound. :(

Damn Canadians.

Comment by Walla

heh, cool. funny no-one noticed this.

Comment by D-thunda

I actually was sitting there trying to get my teammates to come look at it for half the match

Comment by Evilpro

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Comment by babolat tennis rackets new york




Leave a Reply

